Little Chair Quilt and the Digging Dog

Suey, my 7 year old hairless Chinese Crested, sometimes likes to dig when he’s trying to get comfortable on furniture. He doesn’t stay home alone often, but it’s been enough for him to do some damage to my beloved recliner.

Here’s Suey, cozy in my chair (wearing an outfit I made for him).

I tried protecting the chair with a variety of blankets, but they never stayed in place very well (especially with Suey digging at them). So I decided to make a small quilt (my 3rd) for this purpose. Also a good project for practicing my free motion quilting on.

This was my very first practice attempt at free motion quilting. Very rocky at first!

Michael Miller Gem Tones charm pack. I decided to use a disappearing 9 patch.

the quilt top

the quilt sandwich

free motion quilting – still rough in spots

Brain likes it!

I wish I’d made it just a little bit bigger. It fits well and stays in place better than the blankets did, but without safety pins holding the corners in tight, it moves around. In the picture above, Suey is actually lying on the foot rest, and that’s little Raoul cuddled against him.

just had to throw in this pic of a slightly older Raoul

And there’s one last picture of the quilt on the chair with Suey (modeling another outfit I made for him). The quilt is starting to show signs of wear, but I’m glad it’s there. My dad moved in with us in February after he had a stroke, and he spends many hours in that chair every day.

here he is in my chair, hanging out with Vigilance

Leave a Reply

