Goth Baby Quilt

When I found out one of my oldest, dearest friends and his wife were expecting a baby, I was thrilled to have the opportunity to make my first baby quilt. Plus there was the added challenge of making a Goth style quilt for the baby of a well-known Goth model/celebrity.

I browsed fabrics in black, purple, and grey on fabric.com, and I picked a few that I thought might go ok together. I didn’t follow a pattern, but I decided to cut my fabric into 5″ squares like a charm pack in order to showcase the fabrics somewhat. I was trying for a more modern look as opposed to scrappy.

Knowing that the expecting parents lived with 2 black cats, I thought the fabrics were especially appropriate.

Fabrics include Oddities Cats, Magic Meows in Purple by Alexander Henry, and Foxtrot Purple from the Michael Miller Norwegian Woods collection. I can’t remember the name of the skeleton chandelier fabric. The Norwegian Woods pieces are a little pinker than I wanted, but I thought the fabric was so cute and helped to soften the whole thing up some. The black fabric strips are from a Moda jelly roll.

Brain, my ever present helper

making a Goth baby quilt in my sparkly corner

cutting fabric strips for the binding

Hand sewing the binding. I used this adorable fabric called “Oddities Cats” for the backing.

I found it very difficult to photograph the finished product – the colors just never seemed to look quite right with any lighting I used. So here’s a variety… 🙂

I used leftover fabric to make a matching pillow case for the gift wrap.

One thought on “Goth Baby Quilt

Leave a Reply

